Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Okay, I’m in love with music. I will listen to anything, and I mean ANYTHING, provided that the song has: a good beat or rhythm, the lyrics speak to me, or it’s soothing. I know people who listen to just rap, pop music, or rock. I honestly find those people annoying. Why don’t you want to give other types of music a shot? I don’t just listen to Western music, I listen to music from all over the world.

You SERIOUSLY limit yourself when you only listen to music produced in North America or Western Europe. There are so many good artists out there! On my iPod, I’ve roughly 550 songs. Out of all those songs, I’d say only about 15% would fit into the category of Western Music. My iPod is filled with songs in languages from every continent (except Antarctica), including but not limited to: English, French (I have a lot of French songs), German (I have a lot of German too), Russian, Turkish, Arabic (I have a lot of Arabic), Chinese (Mandarin and Cantonese), Vietnamese, Portuguese, Korean, Japanese, Yoruba, Igbo, Hindi, Punjabi, Lingala, Romanian, Hungarian, Spanish, Hebrew, Yiddish…etc. If you can think of any language, I probably have a song on my iPod in that language. 

My iPod is also filled with almost every genre of music including: Rock, Punk Rock, Rap, R & B, Pop Music, Screamo, Techno, House Music, Classical music, Oprah, Dance music, Heavy metal, Old School, Uncategorized, Makossa, Coupé Decalé…and much more! 

Today, I’m going to share some songs with you from some of the groups I’ve mentioned. You should definitely check these out! Honestly, you’ll find something your like. 

<u>FRENCH MUSIC</ u>

I’m really into Sexion D’Assuat and Maître Gims. I’ve yet to find a song by either artist that I don’t like. Sexion D’Assuat is a rap group and Maître Gims belongs to this group, but he’s branched out to also become a solo artist in addition to being in the group. Gims has an AMAZING voice in addition to his fast witted rapping style. He’s the only rapper in the world, that I’ve come across, that can sing so powerfully and rap with a killer style. 

  • Sexion D’AssautDesolé
  • Sexion D’AssautAvant Qu’elle Parte  This is one fo their most powerful songs. Translate the lyrics to English so you can get the full gist. Maître Gims makes this song. 
  • Sexion D’AssuatJ’ai Pas les Loves Another powerful song
  • Sexion D’AssautDisque D’Or Maître Gims kills the rapping here, I think he raps faster than Eminem or Busta Rhymes
  • Sexion D’Assaut: Je Reste Debout . Please translate this song to English! It’s so powerful and my go to song every time I’m depressed. It’s very encouraging! In this song, they are live in Bercy France. They sound so amazing live!
  • Sexion D’Assaut: Ma Direction

Maître Gims Songs that I like

  • Bella . He doesn’t rap here but his singing is still quite phenomenal. When he hits those notes, damn!
  • Zombie I literally listened to this song 30 times every day for 2 weeks straight
  • J’me Tire Amazing, as usual 
  • You Lose He kills it on the rap here. Try to rap this, you’ll die!

<u>ITALIAN/CLASSICAL Music</u>

I’m only going to include 2 artists in this category. They’re both Italian and Classical artists. One is dead, one is alive. My favorite composer, dead or alive, would have to be Ludovicio Einaudi. He’s still alive and my dream would be to meet him one day. I was first introduced to his work after watching the French Film (it has subtitles, don’t worry) The Intouchables. This film is absolutely hilarious (not in a stupid Hollywood hilarious kind of way) and so touching. It’s won many awards both internationally and in France. I fell in love with the scores in that film, and immediately went to Google the soundtrack. I found that a lot of the songs were composed by Einaudi. Although I’ve listened to many composers before, and I truly do enjoy classical music, Einaudi was far different than any other composers I’d listened to. His music is was haunting and left an impression on you. After doing more research on him, I realized that he’s composed dozens of scores for films and he’s world renowned. This old guy even has a Facebook page with over 600k likes. The other composer is Antonio Vivaldi. If you haven’t heard of him, you don’t know music. He was basically like the rockstar in his time. 

Check out some songs by:

Ludovicio Einaudi:

  • Divenire . I bet you’ve heard this song in many movies before!
  • Primavera
  • Fly : This was him live in Moscow! This sounds better than the original and the original was amazing!
  • Una Mattina

Antoino Vivaldi

<u>ROCK</u>

Arguably, my favorite rock band is the funk rock band, Red Hot Chili Peppers. There’s literally not one song by them that I haven’t liked. Other rock bands that I like include, Finger 11, Green Day, Linkin Park, and Nickelback. 

RHCP

Linkin Park

Finger 11

Nickelback

<u>GERMAN</u>

Die Toten Hosen is one of my favorite German bands! Here is a song by them called Nur Zu Besuch. One of my German guilty pleasures is Kay One. He’s a German Rapper. He recently made a song called I Need a Girl Part 3 with Mario Winas. Here is a song by him called Ich Liebe Dich. Lastly, I really like the German rapper Bushido, song Alles Verloren

<u>ARABIC MUSIC</u>

My favorite Arabic Singer is Shereen (Cherine). She has an amazing voice. Check out some of her songs

Shereen 

<u>HINDI/PUNJABI</u>

I have a lot of artists from India that I love, it’s so hard to pick, but here are some songs that I like

  • Naam Hai Tera by Himesh Reshammiya
  • Boli Pali by Soni Pabla. Soni Pabla died in 2005 but he’s still very recognized! He has some amazing songs which you can’t help but dance to. Great for Bhangra
  • Gal Dil Di by Soni Pabla. I love this song but it makes me sad for some reason, all I can think about is his death anytime I like to this song
  • Punjabi MC I heard this song in England and it was bumping! Punjabi MC won many awards for this song. 
  • 2 Step Bhangra by The Bilz ft So D & Kashif
  • Amplifier Imran Khan killed this song!
  • Sadi Gali

<u>TURKISH</u>

I am in love with Tarkan when it comes to Turkish music. He’s yet to have made a song that I don’t like. I swear this guy is gay, I wish he would just come out already!

Tarkan

<u>TOGOLESE (Togo)</u>

My favorite Togolese group so far has to be Toofan. There’s not one of their songs where I don’t feel like getting up and dancing. In Togo, their national language is French but they also speak their native languages as well. Most Togolese music is a mix of French and native Togolese languages 

Toofan

<u>GABON</u>

My favorite Gabonese artist is Patience Dabany. The funny thing about Dabany is that she the First Lady of Gabon from 1967-1988 and she was married to former Gabonese president Omar Ondimba who was president from 1967-2009. She’s the mother of the current president of Gabon! This woman just can’t get enough of politics! It wasn’t until after she divorced her husband that she started pursuing music. Gabon was also colonized by the French

On Vous Connait by Patience Dabany. This song has a lot of good advice 

<u>NIGERIAN</u>

Because I’m Nigerian, I listen to a lot of Nigerian music. I can make a whole post about Nigerian music. There are just too many Nigerian artists and Nigerian songs that I love. Nigerian music is now very popular, not just in Nigeria, but in Africa and around the world. Nigerian music is the most popular music all across Africa, and now, with Nigerian artists in Nigeria continually collaborating with artists overseas, Nigerian music has become International. Many Nigerian artists living in Nigeria have been signed by famous artists like: Kanye West, Jay Z, Akon, Rick Ross and many Nigerian artists living in Nigeria have collaborated with: Drake, Rihanna, Kanye West, Akon, Matt Houston, Sean Paul and many more. It’s so hard to recommend songs, but here are a few artists who you should definitely check out. The shitty thing about many Nigerian artists now is that they’re relying heavily on highly produced music and autotune, but the beats are so sick that you can’t help but like the songs despite the shitty lyrics and autotune. There are still many Nigerian artists with amazing voices though, but they’re not as famous. Some famous Nigerian Artists not in Nigeria include Wale, Tinie Tempah, and many more.

  • Davido – There’s not one song made by Davido that isn’t a hit in Nigeria and around the world. The son of a billionaire father, he’s had an easy life. He’s currently (arguably) Nigeria’s biggest solo artist. Some of his songs that you should listen to include: AyeTchelete (Good Life)SkelewuDami Duro
  • 2Face Idibia – My favorite song by 2Face till date is still African Queen. The lyrics are so beautiful and his voice is so sweet. This song has been featured in many movies, both Nigerian and Hollywood movies
  • Ice Prince – Ice Prince is a rapper that just came out in the last couple of years. He has become so famous in the last few years. I think his rapping is just okay but the beats to his songs are always great and he always features with amazing artists such as Brymo. He has won so many international awards, performed at the BETs and even collaborated with American Rappers like French Montana. Some of my favorite songs by Ice Prince are: Oleku and Juju
  • P Square – The twins P Square are arguably Africa’s most famous duo. They have been around for a long time and have built a musical empire. They have been signed to Akon’s Konvict Records and have collaborated with many American Artists like Rick Ross as well as Artists from around the world such as French artist Matt Houston. They have had number 1 songs in all of Africa, France, Haiti, and much more. Not only are they great at singing, they are amazing at dancing. They’ve been compared with Usher. Their singing style and dancing style is very similar with Usher’s. They’ve been interviewed by CNN, BBC, Wendy Williams, MTV…etc. They’ve won so many awards. The thing I don’t like about P Square, much like other African artists, is that as soon as they get famous, they start using only white girls or light skinned/mixed black girls in their videos. Here are some of their songs: Beautiful (Oyinye) ft Rick RossPersonallyNo One Like you,Chop (means eat in slang) my money ft Akon and May DDo MeIfunayaE (It’s) No Easy,Gimme DatAm I Still That Special Man
  • Tiwa Savage – I actually don’t like Tiwa Savage that much but people seem to like her. She was born in Nigeria but moved to the UK when she was 11. Like most Nigerian Musicians, actors/actresses, and artists, she’s has a University degree. She worked with: Blu Cantrell, Mary J Blige, Chaka Khan, Emma Bunton, Kelly Clarkson,Andrea Bocelli. In addition, she has also performed on stage with several artists like: 50 cent, Destiny’s Child, Eminem, The Black Eyed Peas, Sting, Robbie Williams, and many more. She moved back to Nigeria in 2007 or so and instantly became famous. Now she’s a bastardly rich and successful musician. I still don’t see the big deal with her voice. I think it doesn’t have very much range, but here are some of songs: Eminado Without My Heart
  • WizKid – Wizkid’s voice is nonexistent and his lyrics are obsolete. Without autotune, he would be nothing…but his songs always have a sick beat. He’s collaborated with Rihanna, Kardinal Official, and much more. They even play him here in Canada. Here are some of his songs: Jaiye JaiyePakurumo
  • Yemi Alade – Johnny
  • Femi Kuti – Fela Kuti’s son, just as good as his dad. Beng Beng Beng
  • Lagbaja – Konko Below
  • 9ice – This guy has a raw unique voice Gongo Aso
  • Some other Nigerian artists you should check out include: J Martins, Phyno, Don Jazzy, D’Banj (who’s killer song Oliver Twist was a number 1 in the UK and used in 10 trillion commercials), D’Prince, M.I., Timaya, Banky W…etc. 

<u>CONGOLESE</u>

My favorite Congolese singers are Fally Ipupa (obviously) and Awilo Longomba (even more obvious)

  • Awilo Longomba: He’s been around since forever and was the most popular artist in Africa in the 90s. He’s extremely popular in Africa, Haiti, and France. He was known for his amazing dancing style. This guy can dance like no other. He’s in his 50s now and he’s still an amazing dancer. He still makes songs and his songs are still killer: Gate le CoinCoupé BibambaBundeleleKarolina
  • Fally IpupaAssocié

<u>Côte d’Ivoire</u>

  • Any music by Magic System

<u>SIERRA LEONE</u>

<u>UGANDAN</u>

<u>MOZAMBIQUE</u>

Fun Fact about Mozambique: It was colonized by the Portuguese so it’s one of the few countries in Africa (Angola is another one) that the national language is Portuguese. 

<u>RUSSIAN</u>

Okay, I seriously don’t feel like writing more, but some other artists you should check out include: German group Scooter, German Group Die Artze, German Group Die Atzen, Italian Singer, Andrea Boccelli, Hungarian Ruzsa Magdi, Shitty Russian Rapper Timati, Canadian Deadmau5, Romanian Techno/House Group Fly Project, Italian DJ Benny Benassi, Dutch DJ Korsakoff if you’re into heavy metal, killer bass, and techno…and many more.